About the Pacific Coast Branch

Who We Are

The American Historical Association (AHA) is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical research.

As the largest historical society in the United States, the AHA serves as the umbrella organization for historians. In this role, it conducts an active scholarly and professional program for historians interested in every period and geographical area. Among its 15,000 members are faculty at secondary schools and two– and four–year colleges and universities, independent historians, and historians in museums, historical organizations, libraries and archives, government, and other areas.

The Pacific Coast Branch (PCB) was organized in 1903 to serve members of the American Historical Association living in the Western States of the United States and the Western Provinces of Canada. All members of the AHA living in those areas, therefore, are also members of the Branch. Dues of the parent and branch association are handled by the Executive Director of the AHA, 400 A Street, S.E., Washington, D.C.

Independent of the AHA itself, the Pacific Coast Branch maintains business offices at:

Michael Green
Department of History
Box 455020
Las Vegas, NV 89154-5020

The PCB-AHA Constitution and By-Laws may be found by clicking on the link.

Our Officers


  • President: David Johnson, Portland State University
  • President-elect: Marsha Weisiger, University of Oregon
  • Executive Director: Michael Green, University of Nevada, Las Vegas


  • The President and President-Elect
  • Past President: Andrew L. Johns, Brigham Young University
  • Past President: Mary Elizabeth Berry, University of California, Berkeley
  • Past President: Katherine G. Morrissey, University of Arizona
  • Ex-Officio: Executive Director and the Editor of the Pacific Historical Review

Elected Members:

  • Sara Dant, Weber State University (2020)
  • Andrea Geiger, Simon Fraser University (2020)
  • Natale A. Zappia, California State University, Northridge (2020)
  • Jason Colby, University of Victoria (2021)
  • Jessica Kim, California State University, Northridge (2021)
  • Dustin Walcher, Southern Oregon University (2021)
  • Verónica Castillo-Muñoz, University of California, Santa Barbara (2022)
  • Andrew Isenberg, University of Kansas (2022)
  • Priscilla Leiva, Loyola Marymount University (2022)

Nominating Committee

  • Tyina Steptoe, University of Arizona, chair (2021)
  • Marne Campbell, Loyola Marymount University (2020)
  • Alejandra Dubcovsky, University of California, Riverside (2020)
  • Ari Kelman, University of California, Davis (2021)
  • Coll Thrush, University of British Columbia (2021)

Teaching Committee

  • Kimber Quinney, California State University, San Marcos, chair (2021)
  • Utathya Chattopadhyaya, University of California, Santa Barbara (2020)
  • Rob MacDonald, College of Southern Nevada (2020)
  • Allison Madar, University of Oregon (2020)
  • Dustin Walcher, Southern Oregon University (2020)
  • Jeff Nokes, Brigham Young University (2021)

Finance Committee

  • Jim Matray, California State University, Chico, chair (2021)
  • Ben Mutschler, Oregon State University (2022)
  • Michael Green, University of Nevada, Las Vegas (ex-officio)