2004 Annual Report

The Pacific Coast Branch of the AHA

At the 2004 annual meeting of the PCB, held in San Jose, California, 160 individuals, 30 of whom were graduate students, registered to attend 34 academic sessions. The program also included a luncheon speaker sponsored by the Western Association of Women Historians and a banquet address by President Roger L. Nichols of the University of Arizona.

The following prizes were awarded:

  • The Pacific Coast Branch Book Award to Marcia Yonemoto, University of Colorado, Boulder, for Mapping Early Japan: Space, Place, and Culture in the Tokugawa Period, 1603–1868 (University of California Press)
  • The Norris and Carol Hundley Award to Carol J. Williams, University of Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada, for Framing the West: Race, Gender, and the Photographic Frontier in the Pacific Northwest (Oxford University Press)
  • The W. Turrentine Jackson dissertation award to Benny Joseph Andres, Jr. (University of New Mexico) for “Power and Control in Imperial Valley, California: Nature, Agribusiness, Labor and Race Relations, 1900-1940.
  • The Louis Knott Koontz Memorial Award for the most deserving article to appear in the Pacific Historical Review in the volume year 2003 to John Sbardellati and Tony Shaw for “Booting a Tramp: Charlie Chaplin, the FBI, and the Construction of the Subversive Image in Red Scare America.”
  • The W. Turrentine Jackson Prize for an outstanding essay in the PHR by a graduate student to Krystyn R. Moon, Georgia State University, for “’There’s no Yellow in the Red, White, and Blue’: The Creation of Anti-Japanese Music During World War II.”

By mail ballots cast during the summer 2004, the PCB membership chose Albert Camarillo (Stanford University), as president-elect; Gayle Gullett (Arizona State University), Paul Spickard (University of California, Santa Barbara), and Becky Nicolaides (University of California, San Diego) as members of the Council and Louise Pubols (Autry Museum of Western Heritage), Mary Murphy (Montana State University), and David Igler (University of California, Irvine) as members of the Nominating Committee.


As of December 31, 2004, the PCB held $174,021 in endowment funds for the Pacific Historical Review, the Louis Knott Koontz Award, the Norris and Carol Hundley Prize, the W. Turrentine Jackson prize, the W. Turrentine Jackson Dissertation Award, and the PCB Reserve Fund. Total value of assets owned by the Branch as of December 31, 2004, totaled $218,717.

For the fiscal year, July 1, 2003, to June 30, 2004, the income for the Pacific Historical Review (which had a circulation of 1,460) was $120,733, and expenses (including a $3,500 subsidy to the editorial office of the PHR and a $5,462 royalty to the PCB) totaled $83,542.

Janet Farrell Brodie