Our Awards & Prizes

Pacific Coast Branch Awards

The W. Turrentine Jackson (Dissertation) Award for the most outstanding dissertation on any aspect of the history of the American West in the twentieth century.

The Pacific Coast Branch Book Award for the best book that is submitted by a scholar who resides within the states and provinces from which the Branch draws it membership.

The Norris & Carol Hundley Award for the most distinguished book on any historical subject submitted by a scholar who resides within the twenty–two Western states or four Canadian provinces from which the Branch draws its membership.

Presidents’ Graduate Student Travel Award

The PCB–AHA Presidents’ Graduate Student Travel Award of up to $200 is given to selected graduate students confirmed by the PCB–AHA Conference Program Committee as participants on a session, panel, or roundtable as a presenter (chairing of sessions or panels does not qualify students for travel grants).

Priority is given to dissertation–stage doctoral candidates with decreasing priority given to students based on the year of matriculation in their respective Ph.D.programs. Once notified of their acceptance as a presenter in the PCB–AHA Conference, participating graduate students are invited to submit travel fund proposals to the award selection committee.

By April 30, 2017, a travel fund proposal must be sent directly by email to each member of the selection committee.

Proposals must include: an email requesting consideration for the award, including the student’s name, university, the year of matriculation in a PH.D. program, the candidate’s current status in her or his program and anticipated date of completion. A copy of the PCB–AHA Conference acceptance letter and a CV must also be included.

Travel Award Committee

David Igler (2017)
Department of History
University of California, Irvine
449 Krieger Hall, Mail Code: 3275
Irvine, CA  92697

Anne Hyde (2018)
Department of History
University of Oklahoma
455 West Lindsey Street, DAHT 403A
Norman, OK  73019–2004

George Sánchez (2019)
Department of American Studies & Ethnicity
University of Southern California
Waite Phillips Hall 303
Los Angeles, CA  90089

Pacific Historical Review Prizes

The W. Turrentine Jackson (Article) Prize to a graduate student whose essay on a topic within the fields of concentration of the Pacific Historical Review has been adjudged to be of outstanding quality.

The Louis Knott Koontz Memorial Award is given annually for the most deserving contribution to the Pacific Historical Review.