Louis Knott Koontz Memorial Award Recipients

For the most deserving contribution to the Pacific Historical Review, selected by the Board of Editors of the Review.

2023 Daniel Kim (California State University, Fresno), for “Refashioning Femininity in Colonial Korea: Kang Hyan-Nan, Short Hair, and the Women’s Tonsorial Rebellion of 1920s Korea” (Fall 2022)

2022 P. James Paligutan (San Diego State University and San Diego Mesa College), for “American Dream Deferred: An Oral History of Filipino Servants in the U.S. Navy and Coast Guard, 1952-1974” (Spring 2021)

2021 Yu “Toku” Tokunaga (Kyoto University), for “Japanese Farmers, Mexican Workers, and the Making of Transpacific Borderlands” (Spring 2020)

2020 Jordan Biro Walters (University of Wooster), for “‘So Let Me Paint’: Navajo Artist R.C. Gorman and the Bohemian Art World of San Francisco” (Fall 2019) and Elliott Young (Lewis and Clark University), for “Caging Immigrants at McNeil Island Federal Prison, 1880-1940” (Spring 2019)

2019  Megan Asaka (University of California, Riverside), for “40-Acre Smudge: Race and Erasure in Prewar Seattle” (Spring 2018)

2018  Jason Oliver Chang (University of Connecticut), for “Four Centuries of Imperial Succession in the Comprador Pacific” (May 2017)

2017  Devra Anne Weber (University of California, Riverside), for “Wobblies of the Partido Liberal Mexicano: Reenvisioning Internationalist and Transnational Movements through Mexican Lenses” (May 2016)

2016  James D. Drake, for “A Divide to Heal the Union: The Creation of the Continental Divide,” (November 2015, Vol. 84, no. 4)

2015  Kelly Lytle Hernandez (University of California, Los Angeles), for “Hobos in Heaven: Race, Incarceration, and the Rise of Los Angeles, 1880-1910” (August 2014, Vol. 83, no. 3)

2014  Catherine (Casey) Christensen (University of California, Irvine), for “Mujeres Públicas: American Prostitutes in Baja California, 1910-1930” (May 2013, Vol. 82, no. 2)

2013  Michael F. Magliari (California State University, Chico), for “Free State Slavery:  Bound Indian Labor and Slave Trafficking in California’s Sacramento Valley, 1850-1864” (May 2012, Vol. 81 no. 2)

2012  Stacey L. Smith (Oregon State University), for “Remaking Slavery in a Free State: Masters and Slaves in Gold Rush California,” published in the February 2011 issue.

2011 David Igler (University of California, Irvine), for “On Coral Reefs, Volcanoes, Gods, and Patriotic Geology; Or, James Dwight Dana Assembles the Pacific Basin” (February 2010)

2010  Julia Maria Schiavone Camacho (University of Texas, El Paso), for “Crossing Boundaries, Claiming a Homeland: The Mexican-Chinese Transpacific Journey to Becoming Mexican, 1930s to 1960,” published in the November 2009 issue.

2009  James Mace Ward (Stanford University), for “Legitimate Collaboration: The Administration of Santo Tomás Internment Camp and its Histories, 1943–2003,” published in the May 2008 issue.

2008  Raymond Rast (California State University at Fullerton), for “The Cultural Politics of Tourism in San Francisco’s Chinatown, 1882–1917,” published in the February 2007 issue.

2007  Elizabeth Jameson (University of Calgary) and Jeremy Mouat (Augustana campus of the University of Alberta), for “Telling Differences: The Forty-Ninth Parallel and Historiographies of the West and Nation,” which appeared in the May 2006 issue.