Robert W. Cherny Article Award

Past Recipients

The Robert W. Cherny Award is awarded annually to the the best article in U.S. labor and political history published in the Pacific Historical Review and/or by a member of the PCB-AHA.

The award honors Robert W. Cherny, emeritus professor of history at San Francisco State University, and author of numerous books and articles on a variety of topics, with a special emphasis on U.S. labor and political history as well as the trans-Mississippi American West. His friends created this award to honor him for his distinguished half-century career of teaching, research, and mentorship, including his contributions to the PCB-AHA, for which he received the 2023 Distinguished Service Award.

The author need not live within the region served by the PCB-AHA if the article appeared in the Pacific Historical Review, and articles eligible for our other prizes are eligible for the Cherny Award. The recipient will receive $100.

The deadline for submissions is February 15. One copy of the article should be sent to each of the three members of the committee.

Questions may be addressed to Michael Green, Executive Director of the PCB–AHA, [email protected].

Cherny Selection Committee for 2024

Trevor Griffey (2024)
Lecturer, UCLA
[email protected]

Sarah McNamara (2025)
Assistant Professor of History, Texas A&M University
[email protected]

Benjamin Madley (2026)
Associate Professor of History, UCLA