Nominations for PCB-AHA Service

The Nominating Committee of the Pacific Coast Branch of the American Historical Association (PCB-AHA) seeks nominations for the following officers:
1) PCB-AHA president-elect (1 seat; 1-year term before ascending to the presidency)
2) The PCB-AHA Council (3 seats; 3-year terms)
3) The PCB-AHA Nominating Committee (3 seats; 2-year terms)

Not only our organization but our profession benefits from engaged, energetic, committed officers who support and promote the study of history. We hope you’re interested in being part of that.

Any member of the PCB-AHA may nominate an eligible colleague or themselves to run for these positions. Nominees must be current members of the American Historical Association who work in the United States west of the Mississippi River or in the western provinces of Canada. Attendance at the annual PCB-AHA meeting is mandatory for the president-elect and the members of the Council during their tenure as officers.

Please submit nominations via email to Stacey Smith, Nominating Committee Chair, no later than Dec. 10, 2018 at [email protected].

The duties of the officers are as follows:
1) President-elect: Appoints the program chairs and program committee for the annual meeting; appoints the local arrangements committee for the annual meeting; attends the annual meeting and Council meetings.
2) Council members: Transact business of the organization between annual meetings; call and conduct the Council meetings; coordinate the association of non-members with the historical activities of the PCB-AHA; appoint an Executive Director, Investment Counselor, and Managing Editor of the Pacific Historical Review (as needed); appoint the Board of Editors for the Pacific Historical Review.
3) Nominating Committee: Solicits nominations for PCB-AHA officers and selects the slate of candidates for annual elections.

Thanks for your help in selecting the future leadership of our organization,
AHA-PCB Nominating Committee
Stacey Smith, Oregon State University (Chair)
Anna Booker, Whatcom Community College
Marne Campbell, Loyola Marymount University
Alejandra Dubcovsky, University of California, Riverside
Tamara Venit-Shelton, Claremont McKenna College


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *